Spirit of Edison Previous Honorees

2017 Honoree
Dr. George Pruitt

Community Leader Award
George A. Pruitt, PhD
President, Thomas Edison State University (1982-2017)

2016 Honoree
(left to right: Dr. George Pruitt, Kevin Cummings)

Community Leader Award
Kevin Cummings
President and CEO, Investors Bank

2015 Honorees
(left to right: Michele Brown, Dr. George Pruitt, Brian Maloney)

Community Leader Award
Michele Brown
President and Chief Executive Officer, Choose New Jersey, Inc.
Family Award
Brian T. Maloney
Corporate Consultant, Foundation Board Chair (2008 - 2014)

2014 Honorees
(left to right: Eileen Horton, Dr. George Pruitt, Bernard Flynn)

Community Leader Award
Bernard M. Flynn, Esq.
President and Chief Executive Officer, NJM Insurance Group
Alumni Award
Eileen M. Horton, MSM ’00
Vice President, Patient Services & Chief Nursing Officer, Capital Health

2013 Honorees
(left to right: John Martinson, Eileen Martinson, Dr. George Pruitt, Lauren Wooden, who accepted the award on behalf of her father, Ernest.)

Community Leader Award
Eileen Martinson
CEO, Sparta Systems
Community Leader Award
John Martinson
General Partner and Founder, Edison Venture Fund
Alumni Award
Ernest Wooden, Jr., BSBA ’06, MSM ’07
President and CEO, Los Angeles Tourism & Convention Board

2012 Honorees
(left to right: Karen Clark, Dr. George Pruitt, John McCann)

Community Leader Award
Karen L. Clark
Vice President, Medicaid, HBCBSNJ
President, Horizon NJ Health
Family of Edison Award
John J. McCann ’90
Retired, CEO/Chairman, Bridge Trading, a Reuters Company

2011 Honorees
(left to right: Madeleine Yates, Richard Gillespie, Dr. George Pruitt, Kevin Tylus)

Community Leader Award
Kevin Tylus
Regional President, PNC Bank
Alumni Award
Madeleine Yates ’91
Director of Marketing, Dow Jones
Family of Edison Award
Richard J. Gillespie
Retired President, Gillespie, Inc.

2010 Honorees
(left to right: Michael Toscani, Dr. George Pruitt, Thomas Geisel)

Community Leader Award
Thomas X. Geisel
President & CEO, Sun National Bank
Family of Edison Award
Michael R. Toscani, Pharm.D.
President, Clinical Solutionz

2009 Honorees
(left to right: Greg Milzcik, Amy Mansue, Dr. George Pruitt)

Community Leader Award
Amy B. Mansue
President & CEO, Children’s Specialized Hospital
Alumni Award
Greg Milzcik ’94
President & Chief Executing Officer, Barnes Group, Inc.

2008 Honorees
(left to right: Dr. George Pruitt, Troy Vincent, Joan Verplanck, Eric Robert Lear)

Community Leader Award
Joan Verplanck
President, New Jersey Chamber of Commerce
Family of Edison Award
Eric Robert Lear
Managing Partner, Lear & Pannepacker CPAs, LLP
Alumni Award
Troy Vincent ’07
Pro-Defensive Back, National Football League (Ret.)
Founder, Love Thy Neighbor Community Development and Opportunity Corp.

2007 Honorees
(left to right: Peter Inverso, Dr. George Pruitt, Ida B. Hammond)

Community Leader Award
The Honorable Peter A. Inverso
Former Senator, 14th District New Jersey Legislature
President & CEO Roma Bank/Roma Financial Corporation
Alumni Award
Ida B. Hammond ’77, ’79
New Jersey Department of Education (retired)

2006 Honorees
(left to right: Anthony Dickson, Dr. George Pruitt, Lt. Eric Petrevich)

Community Leader Award
Anthony G. Dickson
President and CEO (retired), New Jersey Manufacturers Insurance Company
Alumni Award
Lieutenant Eric J. Petrevich ’05
Executive Officer, U.S. Army Second Battalion 102nd Cavalry
Senior Notes Administrator, TetraTech, Inc.

2005 Honorees
(left to right: Helene Garcia, Dr. George Pruitt, Frieda Applegate)

Community Leader Award
Helene M. Garcia
VP - Community & Strategic Initiatives (retired), Merrill Lynch
Alumni Award
Frieda M. Applegate ’85
Founder, Project Freedom, Inc.
Community Leader Award
Reginald E. Davis
Northern Banking Group Executive, Wachovia
Alumni Award
The Honorable Brian Hughes ’92, ’00
County Executive, Mercer County, New Jersey
Community Leader Award
Dr. Al Maghazehe
President & CEO, Capital Health
Family of Edison Award
Maria P. Imbalzano, Esq.
Partner, Stark & Stark
Alumni Award
Barbara Armand ’93
Founder, President & CEO, Armand Corporation
Community Leader Award
Thomas A. Bracken
President & CEO (retired), Sun Bancorp, Inc.
Alumni Award
Bonnie Watson Coleman ’85
Assemblywoman, New Jersey Legislature
Community Leader Award
Dennis Bone
President, Verizon New Jersey, Inc.
Family of Edison Award
S. John Quattrone
Founder & President, S. John Quattrone Associates
Alumni Award
Antonia “Toni” Marotta-Brinton ’83
Co-Founder & Former Co-Director, Lean Line, Inc. (Ret.)
Community Leader Award
Albert M. Stark, Esq.
Shareholder, Stark & Stark
Family of Edison Award
Maurice T. Perilli
Chairman of the Board, Roma Federal Savings Bank
Alumni Award
Eric S. Pennington, Esq. ’87
Partner, Eric Pennington, P.C.
Vice Chairperson, UMDNJ
Community Leader Award
Alfred E. Mann
Founder, MiniMed, Inc.
CEO and Chairman, MannKind Corporation
Family of Edison Award
Nicholas L. Carnevale
Chairman, Walter B. Howe, Inc. (Ret.)
Vice President, Carnevale Consulting Corp.
Alumni Award
John J. McCann ’90
CEO and Chairman (retired), Bridge Trading, A Reuters Company
Community Leader Award
Dr. Suren N. Sehgal
Distinguished Research Fellow, Wyeth & Ayerst Research
Family of Edison Award
Rita A. Novitt
Executive, Johnson & Johnson (Ret.)
Consultant, W.K. Kellogg Foundation
Alumni Award
Dr. Marc Jordan Ben-Meir ’84
Owner & Operator Springhaven Clinic, Fort Worth, TX
Community Leader Award
John J. Heldrich
Corporate Vice President of Administration (Ret.), Johnson & Johnson
Founding Chairman, New Brunswick Tomorrow
Community Leader Award
The Honorable Joseph H. Rodriguez
Senior District Judge, U.S. District Court for the District of NJ
Alumni Award
Captain Howard E. Butt ’95
Chief, Narcotics & Organized Crime (retired), New Jersey State Police
Community Leader Award
Richard J. Gillespie
Chairman of the Board, Gillespie, Inc.
Alumni Award
Paula Vaughan ’91
Vice President for Change Management, Prudential, Inc.
Community Leader Award
James Kilgore
President & Publisher, The Princeton Packet, Inc.
Alumni Award
Steven E. de Souza ’76
Screenwriter, Director, & Producer
Community Leader Award
John P. Neary
Executive Vice President (retired), CoreStates Financial Corp.
Executive Vice President for Retail Banking, Sun National Bank
Alumni Award
Frank Z. Hawrylo ’79
Project Engineer Leader, Laser Diode Products, Inc.